Napowrimo Day 3//things i never knew i would miss

i. every morning at exactly seven fifty am, before leaving for college i tell my mom how i don’t feel like going via metro

I tell her about how people don’t understand queues, and kids don’t listen to their moms

I tell her how i forgot my earphones the other day and how I have started carrying an extra pair of earphones, just in case

but today, april 3, my metro card has been sitting in my phone cover for twenty days now hoping i didn’t forget the number written in the upper right hand corner

ii. every time my brother comes home from hostel, we order momos

Momos was a constant no matter how many days he was here
he came home this time on march thirteen,
And i’m yet to see the happiness on my brother’s face which came specifically from momos

iii. looking at the sky, raising your neck at exactly one eighty degrees
Just existing under the enormity of the sky, how it seems to go on and on

how the clouds just exist without caring who actually looks at them

how the colours merge in the evening sky to make the most beautiful palette

iv.every year on 1st april,

I look forward to the swimming pool opening,

To be able to feel unstoppable in water, away from everyone i know

I’m a different person inside water, I’m the twelve year old girl in early morning swimming camp trying her best to catch up, panting, hoping the coach goes easy on me today

v. tying shoelaces everyday

I am really bad at tying shoelaces, they always seem to open at the wrong time and I’m supposed to plan to tie it in the next five mins before a stranger points it out and I feel like the seven year old kid who needed her dad to tie them
 

//things i never knew i would miss

Author: Manali Sethi

An insignificant person trying to make a difference and making it a better and peaceful place to live in.

Leave a comment